The Module Connect & Warehouse

The Connect & Warehouse Module consists of a data processing component (Connect) and a data storage component (Warehouse). Together they form the core of businessNavi while being usable individually. They can be used in combination with additional modules or serve as a base for own evaluation systems.

businessNavi Connect

The Connect component initiates a connection to your most differentiated source systems. It comprises configurable processes via meta data as well as functions for extraction, transformation and for loading the data into the data warehouse. You choose the interval of actualization depending on the application – close to real-time.

Throughout the processing of the data, checking routines secure both completeness and currentness of the data. Every process unit is tested and documented by the integrated logging. Moreover, the proper specialist department will be informed. Concentration on the essential is complemented by triggers for event-controlled reporting.

businessNavi Warehouse

The Warehouse component organizes your data relevantly for evaluation purposes. It contains predefined table structures and views for the sectors Sales, Finance, Purchasing and Production. All assessments run on the data warehouse with optimized performance and thereby relieve the operative systems.

Historiography

At the start of businessNavi’s implementation all structural changes are steadied. Hence, not only current, but also historical views are reproduced.

All companies are exposed to changes in classification of master data – for example, regarding the distribution of sales areas or the affiliation of products to product groups. This takes away the ability to view data structures historically and causes existing reports to no longer be reproducible or dynamic data from the past to not be assessable in current structures, respectively.

Architecture and applied technologies

The Warehouse Module is implemented with the SQL server 2012 by default. Optionally, you can make use of any relational database system (RDBMS). Access to your operative systems is granted by an extraction program which can be applied by Java-technologies independently from the platform. The data converting process is realized by a Java-based framework.

Overview
  • 
Extraction: Data is extracted through a JDBC-interface (Java Database Connectivity), thus, supplying options such as ciphering and dispatching the data involving a backup.
  • Data Converting: The process order is steered by a Java-based framework which additionally facilitates the histography of the data. During the data allocation process, logging-information arranges a broad overview about table sizes and transformation progress.
  • Data Storing: The data model being implemented on the data base can be extended as necessary. Alternatively, one can apply any RDBMS.
businessNavi module overview

Concerning the frontend, IBM Cognos is recommended in order to enable the optimal and extensive possibility for reporting and analyzing. Suitably, standard analysis cubes and reports are determined for the delivery volume of the additional modules businessNavi offers.

Basic Modules Composition Modules
  • Planning
  • Consolidation
  • Special

Contact

Josef Mirkhel

Josef Mirkhel

Project Manager

+49 (0) 2382 9698 300
j.mirkhel(a)accelerate.de

Download the flyer
businessNavi

Das Modul Connect & Warehouse besteht aus einer Datenaufbereitungskomponente (Connect) und einer Datenhaltungskomponente (Warehouse). Gemeinsam stellen Sie den Kern des businessNavi dar und sind eigenständig einsetzbar. Sie können in Kombination mit den weiteren Modulen genutzt werden oder als Basis für eigene Auswertungssysteme dienen.

businessNavi Connect

Die Komponente Connect stellt die Verbindung zu Ihren unterschiedlichsten Quellsystemen her. Sie umfasst über Metadaten konfigurierbare Prozesse und Funktionen zur Extraktion, Transformation und zum Laden (ETL) der Daten in das Data Warehouse. Das Intervall der Aktualisierung bestimmen Sie je nach Anwendungsfall selbst – nahe an Echtzeit.

Bei der Aufbereitung sichern Prüfroutinen Vollständigkeit und Aktualität der Daten. Jeder Verarbeitungsschritt wird durch das integrierte Logging geprüft, dokumentiert und die Fachabteilung wird informiert.

Trigger für Event-gesteuertes Reporting ergänzen die Fokussierung auf das Wesentliche.

businessNavi Warehouse

Die Komponente Warehouse strukturiert Ihre Daten themenbezogen zu Auswertungszwecken. Es enthält vordefinierte Tabellenstrukturen und Sichten (Views) für die Bereiche Vertrieb, Finanzen, Einkauf und Produktion. Alle Auswertungen laufen auf dem performance-optimierten Data Warehouse und entlasten so die operativen Systeme.

Historisierung

Mit Beginn der Implementierung des businessNavi werden sämtliche Strukturveränderungen festgehalten. Somit lassen sich sowohl aktuelle als auch historische Sichten jederzeit abbilden.

In allen Unternehmen werden Änderungen in den Zuordnungen von Stammdaten vorgenommen – z. B. bei der Aufteilung der Vertriebsgebiete oder bei den Zugehörigkeiten von Produkten zu Produktgruppen. Dies führt dazu, dass historische Sichten auf Datenstrukturen nicht mehr möglich sind und bisherige Berichte nicht reproduziert werden können bzw. Bewegungsdaten der Vergangenheit nicht in den aktuellen Strukturen ausgewertet werden können.

Architektur und eingesetzte Technologien

Das Modul Warehouse ist im Standard mit dem SQL Server
2012 implementiert. Wahlweise können Sie jedes beliebige relationale Datenbankmanagementsystem (RDBMS) einsetzen. Der Zugriff auf Ihre operativen Systeme erfolgt über ein Extraktionsprogramm, welches durch Verwendung von Java-Technologien plattformunabhängig eingesetzt werden kann. Der Datenverarbeitungsprozess wird mit einem Java-getriebenen Framework umgesetzt.

Im Überblick
  • 
Extraktion: Mittels JDBC-Schnittstelle (Java Database Connectivity) werden die Daten extrahiert, mit Optionen zur Verschlüsselung (PGP) und Versand der Daten inkl. Backup.
  • Datenverarbeitung: Ein Java-getriebenes Framework steuert die Prozessreihenfolge und ermöglicht die Historisierung der Daten. Während des Datenbereitstellungsprozesses sorgen Logging-Informationen für einen umfassenden Überblick über Tabellengrößen und Transformationsfortschritte.
  • Datenhaltung: Das auf der Datenbank implementierbare Datenmodell kann je nach Bedarf erweitert werden. Wahlweise kann jedes RDBMS eingesetzt werden.
businessNavi Modulübersicht

Für eine optimale und umfangreiche Analyse- und Reportingmöglicheit wird als Frontend IBM-Cognos empfohlen. Hierzu passend sind die Standard-Analysewürfel und Reports im Lieferumfang der zusätzlichen Module des businessNavi enthalten.

Basis-Module Aufbau-Module
  • Planung
  • Konsolidierung
  • Spezial

Kontakt

Josef-Mirkhel_01_z_600x400px

Josef Mirkhel

Projektleiter

+49 (0) 2382 9698 300
j.mirkhel(a)accelerate.de

Download des Modulflyers
Connect & Warehouse